Skip Navigation

Shelton selected as Faculty Regent for TBR

September 1, 2021

Ramona SheltonMotlow State Community College Assistant Professor Ramona Shelton, of McMinnville, was selected to serve as a Faculty Regent within the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) College System, which is the College’s governing board.

Shelton is an assistant professor of history and the Curriculum Chair for the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences at Motlow. She served as Faculty Council Chair during the 2020-21 cycle.

“Ramona Shelton will make a wonderful Faculty Regent during this cycle. She has an uncanny ability to recognize the nuances associated with student success while upholding standards of academic excellence,” said Motlow’s President Dr. Michael Torrence. “She continues to drive her own resolve while holding the attention and respect of her faculty colleagues. This opportunity will provide others a glimpse of her ability and talent. We are so thrilled and supportive of her selection and appointment. Her engagement will be great for the TBR System and Motlow.”

Shelton has earned several higher education degrees, including an Associate Degree from Martin Methodist College, two Bachelor’s Degrees (a BS in Liberal Arts with an emphasis in Psychology and Education and a BA in History) from Athens State University, and a Master’s Degree in History from Jacksonville State University.

“It is truly an honor to have been chosen by Governor Lee. In this position, my voice represents community college faculty statewide,” said Shelton. “I appreciate the support that I have received from Motlow and colleagues from other institutions.”

She began a two-year term in August 2021, to serve as the non-voting faculty regent for the first year and will be in the voting faculty regent position for the second year.

This summer she completed the Community College Leadership Certificate program at East Tennessee State University and is currently a doctoral student in their Higher Education Leadership program.

Over the years, she has taught for several institutions, including Georgia Highlands College, Columbia State Community College, Nashville State Community College, and Middle Tennessee State University.

The Tennessee Board of Regents consists of 19 members with appointments made by the governor: 12 lay citizens appointed to six-year terms, with one from each of the state’s nine congressional districts and from the three Grand Divisions; two faculty members from the system institutions appointed to two-year terms; one student assigned to a one-year term; and four ex-officio members, the governor, Commissioner of Education, Commissioner of Agriculture and the executive director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission.

Tennessee’s Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient, and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. The system offers associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs, and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at or visit Motlow at

Scroll to top