TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
(800) 654-4877

Kevin Fitch, Paige Hendrickson honored with Motlow Foundation Faculty Excellence Awards

LYNCHBURG, TN (May 3, 2016) — Kevin Fitch, Motlow State associate professor of biology and full-time faculty member, and Paige Hendrickson, adjunct instructor and Smyrna campus librarian, were awarded the 2015-2016 Motlow State Community College Foundation's Faculty Excellence Awards during a recent ceremony in the Clayton-Glass Library on the Moore County campus.

Nominees were selected by a committee comprised of Motlow faculty and staff.

Faculty Excellence Award Winners

Kevin Fitch, front row far right, is the 2015-2016 recipient of the Motlow State Community College Foundation Faculty Excellence Award. Other nominees pictured in the front row are from left, Dr. David Bethea, and Dayron Deaton-Owens. In the second row from left are Elizabeth White, Dr. Khalid Tantawi, Pam Harris, Jan Rogers, director of advancement; Dr. Stephen Guerin, and Dr. Anthony Kinkel, Motlow president. In the back row is Bill Yoder, vice chair for the Motlow College Foundation

Fitch teaches anatomy and physiology, environmental science, and general biology. He is an active sponsor for the Conservation and Outdoor Recreation Club, and shares his passion and life-long commitment to protecting the environment and its inhabitants by regularly leading student trips to local state parks and natural areas. Fitch continually develops, improves, and refines his field labs at Motlow through his analysis of reptile, amphibian, and bird data collected from student trips and his classes.

Fitch also provides consultation to the United States Fish and Wildlife Service for the protection and habitat improvement of a federally endangered plant in Tennessee, and provides expert counsel to the Army Corps of Engineers and the Motlow Family Board of Directors, regarding the World War I mortar range, known as the Motlow Range.

He integrates his exceptional activities into the curriculum of his environmental science and biology classes, creating a distinctive classroom environment that provides students with unique opportunities for "real-world" experiences.

Fitch and his wife, Elizabeth, have worked at Motlow since 2007 and have two children, Lily and Levi.

Adjunt Faculty Excellence Award Winners

Paige Hendrickson, second row, third from left, is the recipient of this year's Motlow State Community College Foundation Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award. Other nominees are, in the front from left, Robert Fitzgerald, Christie Gillespie, and David Dale. Second row, from left are Bill Yoder, vice chair of the Motlow College Foundation; Jan Rogers, director of advancement; and Dr. Anthony Kinkel, Motlow president

Hendrickson currently teaches English and First-Year Experience as an adjunct instructor, and serves as a writing center tutor and an embedded class tutor. She received her associate degree from Motlow State in 1997, her bachelor's degree from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga in 1998, and her master's degree from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville in 2005.

Her full-time employment with Motlow began in 2011 as the Smyrna Branch Librarian, her current position. Prior to this she was an adjunct instructor at Motlow teaching developmental reading and writing.

Hendrickson is extremely active at Motlow outside of the classroom and library, serving as a sponsor for the Diversity Club and the Rotaract Club, for Smyrna students; chair for the Administrative Staff Council; member of the Smyrna Space Allocation Committee; member of the Motlow Ladies' Philanthropic Society; member for the Online Learning Subcommittee; MP3 program mentor; and Tennessee Promise mentor.

She is also very active within the community, initiating and participating in an annual tradition of collecting books and transporting them to the International Book Project (IBP) in Lexington, Ky., to support and increase awareness for literacy across the globe. She is also a member of the Read to Succeed Literacy Council.

Hendrickson enjoys scuba diving, spending time with her nieces and nephews, and taking care of her two cats.

Other Motlow full-time faculty members nominated for the award were Dr. David Bethea, assistant professor of music; Jenna Caviezel, instructor of English; Dayron Deaton-Owens, assistant professor of psychology and sociology; Dr. Stephen Guerin, associate professor of psychology; Pamela Harris, instructor of psychology and sociology; Dr. Khalid Tantawi, instructor of mechatronics; and Elizabeth White, instructor of reading.

Other adjunct faculty members nominated for the adjunct award were David Dale, adjunct professor of history; Robert Fitzgerald, instructor of accounting; and Christie Gilispie, adjunct professor of communications and speech.