TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
P.O. Box 8500
Lynchburg, TN 37352-8500
(931) 393-1500

Faculty Excellence Award Winners Named at Motlow College

April 30, 2013

Dr. Linda Harris-Young, a biology professor and full-time faculty member, and Chad Brown, an adjunct emergency medical technology instructor, were awarded the 2012-2013 Motlow College Foundation's Faculty Excellence Awards during a recent ceremony in the Clayton-Glass Library on Motlow's Moore County campus.

Dr. Linda Harris-Young, second from left, is the 2012-2013 recipient of the Motlow College Faculty Excellence Award. She and other award nominees were recognized during a reception on Motlow's Moore County campus. Also pictured are, from left, Dr. Bonny Copenhaver, provost; nominees Dr. Ward Harder, Dr. Mary McLemore, Heather Koller, Gregg Garrison, Kevin Fitch and Dayron Deaton-Owens; and Dr. MaryLou Apple, president of the college.
This is the third time Harris-Young has received the award since joining Motlow's faculty in 1992. A resident of Moore County, she received a bachelor's degree from the University of California at Davis, and a master's degree and doctorate from the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

She holds memberships in many professional organizations, including the American Society for Microbiology and the Tennessee Academy of Science, was named the 2011 Outstanding Alumna by the UAB School of Public Health, and was an advanced placement reader for the College Board AP Program and Educational Testing Service.

Harris-Young also was a participant in the Teacher Preparation Partnership from 2005-2011 with faculty members from other Tennessee colleges and universities. Members of the partnership, which was funded by a grant from the National Science Foundation, adapted math and science classes to meet STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) requirements and worked to improve elementary teacher education programs.

Chad Brown, at right, is the recipient of this year's Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award at Motlow College. With Brown are other award nominees: from left, Kerry Hillis, Molly Jennings and Joseph Hodge.
Brown, of Fayetteville, earned certificates in basic EMT and EMT-IV from Motlow, and an EMT-Paramedic certificate at Columbia State Community College. He is an EMT paramedic for the Marshall County Emergency Medical Service and the Lincoln Medical Center Emergency Medical Service.

Other members of Motlow's full-time faculty nominated for the Faculty Excellence Award were McMinnville residents Dayron Deaton-Owens, an instructor of psychology and sociology, and Gregg Garrison, an associate professor of biology; Kevin Fitch, an assistant professor of biology and resident of Nashville;

Dr. Ward Harder, a professor of accounting and business, of Moore County; Heather Koller, an assistant professor of history and resident of Smyrna; and Dr. Mary McLemore, an associate professor of English, of Tullahoma.

Adjunct faculty nominees were Kerry Hillis, an English instructor and resident of McMinnville; Joseph Hodge, a music instructor, of Manchester; and Molly Jennings, who is an education instructor and lives in Smyrna..