TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
P.O. Box 8500
Lynchburg, TN 37352-8500
(931) 393-1500

Gregg Garrison, Jean Williams honored with Motlow Foundation Faculty Excellence Awards

April 28, 2015

Gregg Garrison, associate professor of biology and full-time faculty member, and Jean Williams, adjunct professor of psychology and sociology, were awarded the 2014-2015 Motlow College Foundation's Faculty Excellence Awards during a recent ceremony in the Clayton-Glass Library on the Moore County campus.

Gregg Garrison, front row middle, is the 2014-2015 recipient of the Motlow College Foundation Faculty Excellence Award. Other nominees pictured in the front row are, from left, Teresa Boyer and Mary McLemore. In the middle row are Dr. Marylou Apple, president of the college, Pamela Harris, Brian Mitchell, Dr. Janice Harder, Dayron Deaton-Owens, Stephen Guerin and Dr. Cindy Kelley, vice president of academic affairs. In the back row are Bill Yoder, vice chair for the Motlow College Foundation and Jan Rogers, director of advancement. Motlow College photo.
Nominees were selected by a committee comprised of Motlow College faculty and staff.

Originally from Nashville, Garrison attended Middle Tennessee State University where he earned his bachelor's and master's degrees in biology. Before joining the Motlow family in 2003 as an adjunct, Garrison served as a medical corpsman for the United States Navy and Marine Corp and also worked for the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation as an interpretive specialist.

Now a full-time faculty member at Motlow, Garrison's subjects include anatomy, physiology, microbiology and genetics. He is the lead advisor for the Motlow Alpha Xi Pi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society, and also serves as the Tennessee regional coordinator for PTK and oversees 14 chapters across the state.

Outside of the college, Garrison enjoys spending time with his wife Theresa and two children, Kyra and Vincent. He enjoys teaching martial arts, camping, hiking, cycling and kayaking.

Williams graduated from Tennessee Technological University in 1976 and was dually enrolled at Vanderbilt University, where she received a graduate degree in 1978. She has completed post-graduate work from MTSU, TTU and Oxford University.

Jean Williams, front row third from left, is the recipient of this year's Motlow College Foundation Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award. Other nominees in the front, from left, are David Dale, Christie Gillespie and Margaret McKinley. In the back are Dr. Marylou Apple, president of the college, Bill Yoder, vice chair of the Motlow College Foundation, Jan Rogers, director of advancement and Dr. Cindy Kelley, vice president of academic affairs. Motlow College photo.
Williams joined Motlow's staff as a librarian in 1980 and eventually reached the level of associate dean of administration. After 13 years serving as a member of the staff and administration, she joined the Motlow faculty in 1993.

Outside of teaching, Williams enjoys volunteering, and in 2009 she retired from Motlow and volunteered in India for three years. In 2010, she became a board member of the Gandhi Worldwide Education Institution, which supports a school in Kolhapur, India. She also served as the director of Avani School in Kolhapur after being invited by members of the Gandhi family.

Williams returned home in 2011 to take care of elderly family members and began teaching again at Motlow soon after her return.

Other Motlow full-time faculty members nominated for the award were Teresa Boyer, associate professor of nursing; Dayron Deaton-Owens, assistant professor of psychology and sociology; Dr. Stephen Guerin, associate professor of psychology; Dr. Janice Harder, professor of business; Pamela Harris, instructor of psychology and sociology; Dr. Mary McLemore, professor of English; and Brian Mitchell, instructor of mathematics.

Adjunct faculty members nominated for the adjunct award were David Dale, adjunct professor of history; Christie Gillespie, adjunct professor of communications and speech; and Margaret McKinley, adjunct professor of education.