TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
(800) 654-4877

Motlow State honors program finishes academic year with symposium

Honors Symposium Lydia Martin addresses a large audience at the recent Honors Symposium held at the Moore County campus of Motlow State Community College. Assisting Martin with a presentation titled "The Munsters as an Illustration of Revenant Mythology", are, seated from left, Sarah Wester, Joshlynne Williams, Ashley Friedl, and Jamie Freeman. Honors students from all four Motlow State campuses recently participated in the event that highlights the work of honors students from the 2015-2016 academic year.

LYNCHBURG, TN (Apr. 19, 2016) — The Motlow State Community College honors program recently finished the 2015-2016 academic year with its eighth annual Honors Symposium. The event was held inside the Marcum Technology Center on the Moore County campus.

Students from all four Motlow State campuses participated in the symposium, according to Dr. Scott Cook, assistant vice president for academic affairs and honors program director.

"The Honors Symposium is an annual event that showcases the work that our students complete in their courses during the academic year," said Dr. Cook. "It is a time to celebrate all they do for the honors program and the college."

Honors students participated in discussion panels and made presentations on a variety of topics such as "The Disappearance of the Middle Class in America", "The Munsters as an Illustration of Revenant Mythology", "The Sinking of the Titanic: What If?", "Human Trafficking: Sexual Slavery", "Why Young Adults Should Vote", and "The Literary Canon: Who Decides?".

Honors courses offered this past year included Speech, English Composition I and II, American History I and II, General Psychology, Abnormal Psychology, Introduction to Sociology, Service Learning, Sex and the Supernatural Honors Seminar, Titanic in Literature and Film, Greek Mythology, American Literature, and World Literature I, among others.

After the presentations, honors scholar graduates were recognized. Honors graduates this year are Anna Aguirre, Dalton Beard, Alan Carden, Amelia Cash, Andrew Dean, Ashley Friedl, Dylan Gilmer, Jessica Gochee, Haley Harrison, Hunter Hobbs, Trevor Hudson, Toni McPherson, Blake Miller, Darby Moore, Larry Myers, Carrie Neill, Jeanna Pattillo, Rebekah Potts, Carrie Rozar, Christopher Savelle, Abigail Simons, Summer Stevens, Tyler Storz, E.T. Thompson, Caitlin Tripp, Jacob Walker, and Sarah Wester.

For more information about the Motlow College honors program, please visit the college website at or contact Dr. Scott Cook at or 931-393-1844.