TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
P.O. Box 8500
Lynchburg, TN 37352-8500
(931) 393-1500

Faculty Excellence Award winners named by Motlow College Foundation

April 17, 2014

Billy Hix, associate professor of education and full-time faculty member, and Shannon Freeman, an adjunct professor of psychology, were awarded the 2013-2014 Motlow College Foundation's Faculty Excellence Awards during a recent ceremony in the Clayton-Glass Library on Motlow's Moore County campus.

Billy Hix, front row left, is the 2013-2014 recipient of the Motlow College Foundation Faculty Excellence Award. Other nominees pictured in the front row are, from left, Gregg Garrison, Dayron Deaton-Owens and Dr. Judith Russell. Back row, from left, are Dr. Marylou Apple, Motlow president; Dawn Copeland, interim vice president for academic affairs; Jan Rogers, director of advancement; Cheri Gregory, Jeannie Gallant, Dr. Khalid Tantawi and Pamela Harris.
Nominees were selected by a committee comprised of Motlow College faculty and staff.

A resident of Shelbyville, Hix has taught for over three decades. In addition to teaching at Motlow, Hix directs the STEM program, which teaches students about science, technology, engineering and math. Through this program, Hix travels to area schools to educate students about astronomy and other STEM related subjects.

Hix also serves as a teacher liaison for the Space Foundation, a nonprofit organization that supports global space industry through educational programs, and is an advisor to NASA.

Shannon Freeman, center front row, is the recipient of this year's Motlow College Foundation Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award. Pictured to the left and right of her are nominees Tina Carter and Dr. William Kraus, respectively. Also pictured, in the back row from left to right, are Dr. Marylou Apple, Motlow president; Jan Rogers, director of advancement; and Dawn Copeland, interim vice president for academic affairs.
Originally from Shreveport, La., Freeman has been a resident of middle Tennessee since 2006. Upon completing her graduate degrees in both counseling psychology and education, Shannon has served as an elementary classroom teacher, school guidance counselor and a professor of psychology at Motlow.

Other members of the Motlow's full-time faculty nominated for the Faculty Excellence Award were Dayron Deaton-Owens, instructor of psychology and sociology; Jeannie Gallant, assistant professor of communications; Gregg Garrison, associate professor of biology; Cheri Gregory, associate professor of biology; Pamela Harris, instructor of psychology; Dr. Judith Russell, professor of English; and Khalid Tantawi, instructor of mechatronics.

Adjunct faculty members nominated for the award were Tina Carter, adjunct professor of biology, and Dr. William Kraus, adjunct professor of political science.