TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
P.O. Box 8500
Lynchburg, TN 37352-8500
(931) 393-1500

Motlow's Excellent Faculty Recognized at Annual Awards

April 17, 2012

Faculty Excellence

    Full-time faculty nominees, seated, from left, are Dr. Katherine Parks, Dr. Lucy Craig, Dr. Linda Harris-Young and Elaine Robinson. Standing, from left are Maria Benham, adjunct faculty nominee; Morgan Hanson, winner of the Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award; Michael Griffith, chair of the Foundation, Dr. Bonny Copenhaver, provost of Motlow College; Cathy Simpson, winner of the Faculty Excellence award; and Heather Koller, full-time faculty nominee. Others nominated and not pictured are Gregg Garrison and Dr. Mary McLemore, full-time faculty and Walter Litaker, Jr. and Robert Pickard, adjunct faculty.

A reception was recently held at the Clayton-Glass Library on the Moore County campus to recognize full-time and adjunct faculty members nominated for the annual Faculty Excellence Awards. Michael Griffith, chair of the Motlow College Foundation, announced the faculty members and presented the awards sponsored by the Foundation. Dr. Bonny Copenhaver, provost of Motlow, assisted Griffith with the ceremony.

Cathy Simpson received the Faculty Excellence Award. She is a nursing instructor and has been the Smyrna Center Nursing Coordinator since the fall of 2010. Simpson serves on the faculty council, is a nursing faculty representative for the Student Nurse Association and the Smyrna Rotary/Stonecrest Scholarship Committee. She is a member of the National League of Nursing, Tennessee Nurses Association, Sigma Theta Tau, and the Association of Women's Health and Neonatal Nursing.

Simpson received her first bachelor's degree in Christian Education from Asbury College in Ky. and a second bachelor's in Nursing from the University of Alabama in Birmingham. She earned her Master's degree from Wesleyan University in Ind. Simpson enjoys gardening and fishing and serves as the Women's Ministry Director at her church and volunteers with short-term mission trips. In addition to teaching at Motlow, she also works as needed at Stonecrest Medical Center in Smyrna. One of her long-term goals is to develop an international opportunity for nursing students to study abroad.

The other nominees for the Faculty Excellence Award were Dr. Lucy Craig, assistant professor of criminal justice and Title IX Coordinator; Gregg Garrison, assistant professor of biology and faculty coordinator of Phi Theta Kappa; Dr. Linda Harris-Young, professor of biology and faculty member for 19 years; Heather Koller, history instructor at Motlow's Smyrna Center; Dr. Mary McLemore, associate professor of English serving Motlow since 1988 in both faculty and administrative positions; Dr. Katherine Parks, chemistry instructor and sponsor of the Motlow Science Club; and Elaine Robinson, associate professor in mathematics who began her career with Motlow in 1989 as an adjunct instructor.

Morgan Hanson received the Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award. She teaches composition, general education, literature survey courses, and Honors English courses at Motlow's Smyrna Center. Hanson graduated from Tennessee Technological University (TTU) in 2007 with a bachelor of arts in English and completed her master of arts in English from there in 2009. As a graduate student, Hanson had the opportunity to serve as a graduate teaching assistant, where she observed and eventually taught English composition courses. Hanson enjoys singing in Tullahoma First United Methodist Church's choir and working with the children's choir.

Other adjunct faculty members recognized as nominees were Maria Benham, foreign language instructor; Walter Litaker, Jr., and Robert Pickard, history instructors.