TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
P.O. Box 8500
Lynchburg, TN 37352-8500
(931) 393-1500

Finalists Selected for Motlow College Presidential Search; Interviews Scheduled April 21, 22

April 14, 2015

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (April 14, 2015) - Four finalists have been selected to possibly become the next president of Motlow State Community College. Each will participate in interviews, campus forums and community receptions next week.

The finalists are
•Shanna L. Jackson, dean of extended services and Williamson County Campus at Columbia State Community College;
•Cynthia S. Kelley, vice president for Academic Affairs at Motlow State Community College;
•Anthony G. Kinkel, president of Wichita Area Technical College in Wichita, Kansas; and
•Michael Torrence, assistant vice president of Academic Affairs at Volunteer State Community College.

The finalists' application materials are available to view on the Presidential/Executive Searches website at

The finalists will interview with the Presidential Search Advisory Committee on April 21 and 22. The committee interviews are open to the press and the public as observers and will take place in the Marcum Technology Building, Room 105 on the main Motlow campus in Lynchburg. The detailed campus visit schedules and interview times will be posted on the website at as soon as they are finalized.

The finalists will also participate in meetings and open forums for a variety of constituent groups, including faculty, staff, students, alumni and the community. The campus forums will be streamed live online via links available on the presidential search website. Receptions for alumni and community members will also be scheduled.

The search committee's charge is to identify and interview three to five finalists for the position of president. After the interviews and campus visits, Tennessee Board of Regents Chancellor John Morgan will gather feedback from committee members and make the final selection for recommendation to the Board for approval.

Motlow State's current president, MaryLou Apple, previously announced her plan to retire on June 30 after leading the college for nine years. The new president is expected to be named by July.

Motlow State Community College is a public, multi-campus college offering associate degrees, certificates and flexible learning pathways. The main campus is located in Moore County with learning centers in Fayetteville, McMinnville and Smyrna, a teaching site in Sparta and a partnership in Shelbyville at the Middle Tennessee Education Center. It is a member of Tennessee's Community Colleges.

The Tennessee Board of Regents is among the nation's largest higher education systems, governing 46 post-secondary educational institutions. The TBR system includes six universities, 13 two-year colleges and 27 colleges of applied technology, providing programs across the state to more than 200,000 students.