TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
P.O. Box 8500
Lynchburg, TN 37352-8500
(931) 393-1500

Motlow College Phi Theta Kappa chapter will be honored at convention in Orlando

April 9, 2014

The Alpha Xi Pi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Motlow College will receive multiple awards at the upcoming Hallmark Awards Gala during 'NerdNation 2014', Phi Theta Kappa's annual convention. This year's event is in Orlando, Fla., and is scheduled for Apr. 24-26. Motlow will send 27 students as part of the 5,000 members worldwide that will be in attendance.

The Alpha Xi Pi officer team will be among thirty officer teams internationally honored with the 2014 Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Award. Officer teams are chosen based on the team's demonstration of an exceptional atmosphere of teamwork, leadership abilities, promotion of Honors in Action, other engagement in the Society, and enthusiasm for the Hallmarks of the Society (Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship).

Motlow College student Holly Campbell has been selected as one of Phi Theta Kappa's 2014 Distinguished Chapter Members. Campbell was nominated by her chapter based on her embodiment of the Hallmarks of the Society and through Honors in Action and other chapter activities. She was selected by a panel of judges from over 150 nominees internationally.

In addition to the officer award and the student award, Alpha Xi Pi faculty advisor Dayron Deaton-Owens will be among thirty PTK advisors honored with the 2014 Distinguished Advisor Award. The Distinguished Advisor Award recognizes advisors who have served at least four years and have made significant contributions to the growth of the individual chapter members, served as the chapter's advocate on campus, and encouraged the chapter to be involved on the local, regional, and/or international level.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions.

Nearly three million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.