TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
P.O. Box 8500
Lynchburg, TN 37352-8500
(931) 393-1500

Judge Vanessa Jackson to Speak at Motlow Graduation

April 3, 2012
Vanessa Jackson

Judge Vanessa Agee Jackson will deliver the commencement address at the Motlow College graduation May 5 in Copperweld Arena of the Nisbett Center on the Moore County campus. Judge Jackson will speak at the 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. ceremonies.

Judge Jackson of Tullahoma is Coffee County's first and only female circuit court judge. She was appointed by former Gov. Bredesen in 2009 after the death of Judge John W. Rollins. She secured her position on the bench by winning the 2010 election for the 14th Judicial District Part II. Jackson earned a Doctor of Jurisprudence from the University Of Tennessee College Of Law in 1978 and moved to Tullahoma shortly thereafter. She served as the in-house counsel for First Federal Savings & Loan Association of Tullahoma until 1980. Jackson was in private practice with the Tullahoma law firm of Henry & McCord until 1993 and prior to her appointment to the bench, she was in private practice at the Tullahoma law firm, Hull, Ray, Rieder, Ewell, Lane & Ridner, and P.A.

Judge Jackson serves the community in many capacities. Dr. MaryLou Apple, president of Motlow said, "Judge Jackson is a great supporter of Motlow College. She has been a tremendous leader in the Motlow Ladies Philanthropic Society (MLPS) and as a result of her leadership, numerous adult ladies have benefited from access to MLPS scholarships. She is a wonderful role model for our students and community."

She is a member of the Coffee County and Tennessee Bar Associations. Her other memberships include the Manchester Rotary Club, Tullahoma Industrial Board and she was a member of the Coffee County Election Commission for over 20 years. Jackson served on the Board of Trustees for her church, First United Methodist Church in Tullahoma, and has served as director on the Board of Directors for First Vision Bank of Tennessee since its formation in 2005.