TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
P.O. Box 8500
Lynchburg, TN 37352-8500
(931) 393-1500

Motlow College Student Leaders Among Guests at Legislative Breakfast

January 9, 2013

Student leaders representing all Motlow College sites were among the guests at Motlow's annual legislative breakfast, held on the Moore County campus. They are pictured with Motlow College President MaryLou Apple and Gary Winton, assistant director of student services at Motlow's Smyrna Center. From left are Evan Spurlock, Winton, Corey Morris, Whitney North, Kelsey Jones, Julie Beth Tucker, Karen Stone, Blake Skeets, Apple, Andrew Mullendore, Janiece Owens, Angelica Looney, Shelby Hall, Polly Howell and Karen Hill.

Motlow College student leaders attending the recent Legislative Breakfast on the Moore County campus took advantage of the opportunity to talk with educators, community officials and state legislators.

"I not only got to hear about issues that are important to our communities, but I was able to meet the people who create and pass laws to keep Tennessee safe, prosperous, and moving in the right direction," said student Corey Morris. "Sometimes it is easy to think that our legislators don't really care about their constituents, but I learned that this is not the case. Our senators and community leaders want to hear from us and are enthusiastic to help with any issue we face."

Morris is a member of Motlow's Student Government Association and Presidential Student Leadership Institute (PSLI). He is following a general studies curriculum at Motlow with plans to pursue a political science degree at the university level.

Kelsey Jones, a university-parallel major studying criminal justice at Motlow, said she talked with legislators about issues that are important to college students.

"Talking with legislators made me feel like I can make a difference and was a great experience," she said. "I felt honored to be among the guests at the breakfast." Jones is a member of the PSLI and is Miss Motlow for the McMinnville Center.

Dr. MaryLou Apple, president of the college, welcomed guests and introduced speakers. These included Dr. Warren Nichols, Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) vice chancellor for community colleges; David Gregory, TBR vice chancellor for administration and facilities management; State Sen. Bill Ketron; State Sen. Janice Bowling; and State Rep. Dawn White.

Motlow College President MaryLou Apple, at left, meets with state legislators and area city and county leaders following Motlow's annual legislative breakfast on the Moore County Campus. With Apple are, from left, Fayetteville Mayor John Ed Underwood; Manchester Mayor Lonnie Norman; Coffee County Mayor David Pennington; State Sen. Bill Ketron, 13th District; Lincoln County Mayor Peggy Bevels; Moore County Mayor Sloan Stewart; Lanie Johnson, AT&T liaison; Shelbyville Mayor Wallace Cartwright; State Sen. Janice Bowling, 16th District; and State Rep. Dawn White, 37th District.