TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
P.O. Box 8500
Lynchburg, TN 37352-8500
(931) 393-1500

New 2011-12 Presidential Student Leadership Institute Meets

June 13, 2011

2011-12 Presidential Student Leadership InstituteSix years ago Motlow College President MaryLou Apple formed the Presidential Student Leadership Institute (PSLI) to provide opportunities for students who are committed to increasing their roles as leaders. To participate, students must be full-time and have at least 24 hours of collegiate-level credits with a cumulative 2.5 grade point average (GPA). From now until graduation in May 2012, a new group of 13 members will build leadership skills as they learn to interact with college and community leaders and develop networking relationships.

New members of the PSLI include: Ashley Slone from the Fayetteville Center, Hailey Jones and Lacey Zavifian from the McMinnville Center, Yasir Abbas and Ashley North from the Smyrna Canter and Catherine Chappell, Terra Scott, Laura Hudgens, Zach White, Jordan Cobb, Jacob Honea, Kacey Smith and Brittany Nichols from Motlow's Moore County campus.

The group recently met for the first time at Motlow's Moore County campus. As they prepare to embark on a year-long adventure of learning the principles and theories of leadership, their first meeting was a two-day retreat designed for them to get to know each other, work together as a team and become acquainted with Dr. Apple and their co-sponsors.  Assistant Directors of Student Services from each of Motlow's four centers serve as co-sponsors for the future leaders; including Sheri Mason from the Moore County campus, Debra Smith from the Fayetteville Center, Gary Winton from the Smyrna Center and Sally Pack from the McMinnville Center.