TN Promise at Motlow my Motlow Academic ProgramsApply Now

Motlow State Community College
P.O. Box 8500
Lynchburg, TN 37352-8500
(931) 393-1500

Scott Cook Receives 2011 Faculty Excellence Recognition at Motlow

April 15, 2011

2011 Faculty AwardsTen members of Motlow's faculty were recognized as finalists for Faculty Excellence and Adjunct Faculty Excellence awards during a recent reception at the Clayton-Glass Library on the Moore County campus. John Parker, chair of the Motlow College Foundation, presented cash awards and engraved glass trophies to all of the finalists. Dr. MaryLou Apple, president of Motlow and Dr. Bonny Copenhaver, provost and vice president for student affairs, assisted Parker with the annual awards sponsored by the Foundation.

Ben Jobe, a music instructor at Motlow's Smyrna Center received the Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award. Jobe, of Nashville, is a staff pianist at Faith Baptist Church in Madison and has enjoyed a long career associated to music including advertising, commercial music and Christian publishing. He has taught at Volunteer State, Tennessee State University and has been with Motlow since 2000. The other adjunct faculty member recognized for his excellence in the classroom is Bruce Gillies of Moore County. He is a mathematics instructor for the developmental studies program and teaches a math dual enrollment class at Tullahoma High School.

The top honor of the afternoon, the Faculty Excellence Award, was presented to Scott Cook, associate history professor and coordinator of the Honors Program at Motlow. Cook has taught at the college level for ten years. Prior to Motlow he taught at the Georgia Military College where he also served as department chair and interim academic dean. He and wife Meghan live in Murfreesboro and recently welcomed infant son, Jacob. Cook addressed the crowd after the announcement, "I am both shocked and honored to receive this award. I thank you for the recognition as we all strive to be the best instructors we can be in the classroom."

The other seven nominees for the Faculty Excellence Award were; Kevin Fitch, anatomy, physiology, general biology and environmental science instructor at the Smyrna Center; Gregg Garrison, assistant professor of biology and faculty coordinator of Phi Theta Kappa at the McMinnville Center; Dr. Stephen Guerin, an associate professor of psychology and chair of the Department of Social Science at the Moore County campus; Amy Holder, assistant professor of nursing at the Moore County campus; Fred Rascoe, Mechatronics instructor at Motlow's McMinnville Center; Elaine Robinson, associate professor in mathematics at the Fayetteville Center and Debbie Zimmerman, associate professor of communications and chair for the Department of Humanities.

Dr. Apple addressed the crowd in closing, "Having these type awards to bestow upon our faculty is always a pleasure. We appreciate the Foundation's generosity in sponsoring the annual recognition of our very talented faculty members and their commitment to Motlow."

She also recognized members of the selection committee who had the daunting task of choosing the overall winners. Joining Dr.'s Apple and Copenhaver on the committee were representatives of the Motlow College Foundation; Parker, Dr. Frank Glass, Jan Rogers and Hilda Tunstill. Final members of committee were the 2010 recipient of the Faculty Excellence Award, Dr. Judith Russell and the Student Government Association president, Angelica Lightfoot.